Skip to content

We use first and third-party cookies to provide and improve our services online. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of cookies. How to manage cookies

Armed forces community covenant

The Armed Forces Covenant is a promise from the nation that those who serve or have served, and their families, are treated fairly. The government works with businesses, local authorities, charities and community organisations to support the forces through services, policy and projects.

The National Armed Forces Covenant recognises and rewards our service men and women, veterans and their families for the great work they do and sacrifices they make.

Covenant for serving personnel and families

There are several initiatives as part of the Armed Forces Covenant designed to support serving personnel and their families.

SSAFA, the armed forces charity, has produced an Additional needs and disability: a guide for families publication which includes a directory of support across all three services.

Covenant for veterans

Grants are available from the Aged Veterans Fund to fund projects for practical support and companionship to improve older veterans’ wellbeing and services to assist individuals in their needs.

See GOV.UK: Armed Forces Covenant: guidance and support for information and links to support services for both serving personnel and veterans or contact the Veterans Gateway.

Covenant for communities

For communities, the Armed Forces Covenant is a promise of mutual support between a civilian community and its local armed forces community.

The community covenant is our local adaption of the initiative and complements the National Covenant. The community covenant is a statement of support between the civilian and local armed forces community. It was originally signed in April 2012 by Councillor Ian McEnnis, Chairman of Wycombe District Council (now Buckinghamshire Council) and Group Captain MD Heffron, Station Commander of RAF High Wycombe.

The community covenant aims to:

  • encourage local communities to support the local armed forces community
  • make it easier for service personnel, families and veterans to access help and support
  • encourage activities that help integration into civilian life 

Why get involved

Our community covenant is a rewarding project to be part of and would fit perfectly within any corporate social responsibility plan or as part of charitable work.

By signing up to the covenant, you will commit to supporting service personnel, families and veterans within RAF High Wycombe. The extent of your support is up to you. It can be anything from offering a two for one deal, a 10 per cent discount or free entry. In return you will receive a membership certificate and be listed on this website as an official supporter of the community covenant.

How to get involved

If you would like to find out more about the covenant and how to get involved, please email us at:

Armed forces community covenant members

  • Bledlow cum Saunderton Parish Council
  • Bradenham Parish Council
  • Chepping Wycombe Parish Council
  • Great Marlow Parish Council
  • Hazlemere Parish Council
  • Hughenden Parish Council
  • Little Marlow Parish Council
  • Longwick-cum-Ilmer Parish Council
  • Marlow Town Council
  • People for Places Leisure Ltd
  • Princes Risborough Parish Council
  • Radnage Parish Council
  • Stokenchurch Parish Council
  • The High Wycombe Mayor's Office
  • Turville Parish Council 

Armed Forces Champions