Modernising local government


In January 2017, district councillors across Buckinghamshire voted in favour of submitting a proposal for creating two new unitary councils to the Secretary of State, Sajid Javid. 

Watch our short Powtoon film on YouTube (external site) which explains our proposal for two new unitary councils in Bucks.

The proposed model would see two new unitary councils created in Bucks - one in the north and one in the south. These two new councils would replace the current county and four district councils. 

A two-unitary model for Bucks:

  • strengthens local decision making
  • improves and protects the future of local services
  • saves taxpayers’ money
  • keeps our customers at the centre of everything we do

See Proposal for modernising local government in Buckinghamshire [PDF | 1.9MB], executive summary of the four district councils' submission

See Buckinghamshire district councils Modernising local government report [PDF | 5.0MB]: the four district councils’ full submission

See Modernising Bucks (external website) our dedicated website, for the latest information.