Skip to content

We use first and third-party cookies to provide and improve our services online. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of cookies. How to manage cookies

Police and crime commissioner election 15 November 2012

The election Thames Valley Police and Crime Commissioner took place on Thursday 15 November 2012.

The supplementary vote system was used for these elections. Voters were asked to select their first and second preferences for PCC. As no candidate gained 50 per cent of the first preference votes, the two candidates with the highest number of first preference votes went forward to a second round of counting.

In the second round of counting, ballots with a first preference for a candidate that did not get into the top two were reallocated according to the second preference indicated in the ballot paper.


Thames Valley Police and Crime Commissioner election results 15 November 2012
CandidateDesignationFirst round voteSecond preference totalElected
AWE Patience Tayo Independent 14,878    
COOPER Barry  UKIP 19,324    
HOWARD Geoff Independent 31,716    
HOWSON John Orrell Liberal Democrat 20,511    
STANSFELD Anthony  The Conservative Party Candidate 76,011 18,227 Elected
STARKEY Tim  Labour Party Candidate 56,631 13,772  

More information