Christmas bin collections

bin-lorry

Collection day changes

There will be changes to your waste and recycling collections over Christmas and New Year.

Please check the below table for your revised collection dates.

Collection day changes
Normal dayRevised day
Tuesday 25 December Thursday 27 December
Wednesday 26 December Friday 28 December
Thursday 27 December Saturday 29 December
Friday 28 December Monday 31 December
Monday 31 December Wednesday 2 January
Tuesday 1 January Thursday 3 January
Wednesday 2 January Friday 4 January
Thursday 3 January Saturday 5 January
Friday 4 January Monday 7 January
Monday 7 January Tuesday 8 January
Tuesday 8 January Wednesday 9 January
Wednesday 9 January Thursday 10 January
Thursday 10 January Friday 11 January
Friday 11 January Saturday 12 January

Normal collections resume from Monday 14 January 2019.

Garden waste suspended

The garden waste collection service is suspended from Tuesday 25 December to Tuesday 8 January (inclusive).

Christmas tree recycling

Cut up your real Christmas tree and put into your garden bin. If you do not have access to a garden waste bin, you can recycle real Christmas trees at your nearest household recycling centre (external website).

Extra recycling

We will collect a reasonable amount of extra recyclable material at the kerbside, as long as:

  • it is loose in a re-useable container - we will not collect recyclables in plastic bags
  • it is presented neatly alongside the relevant collection container
  • cardboard boxes are flattened and reduced to a manageable size

We are not responsible or liable for any lost containers used to store extra recycling.

You can also take extra recycling to your nearest recycling centre.