Skip to content

We use first and third-party cookies to provide and improve our services online. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of cookies. How to manage cookies

Wycombe Wanderers and Council gather to celebrate success

Wycombe Wanderers’ promotion to Sky Bet League One was celebrated at a special ceremony hosted by Wycombe District Council on Thursday afternoon.

Manager Gareth Ainsworth was joined by Club President Ivor Beeks, Chairman Trevor Stroud, Sporting Director Andrew Howard, Assistant Manager Richard Dobson and Club and Team Captains Matt Bloomfield and Adam El-Abd for a reception at the council’s offices in the town centre, accepting a prestigious plaque in recognition of their achievement of winning promotion for the first time since becoming supporter-owned in 2012.

Cllr Tony Green, chairman of Wycombe District Council, spoke of his admiration for the club’s progress over the past four years and wished the Chairboys luck for the new season, which kicked off on Saturday when Blackpool visited Adams Park.

He said: “Everyone at Wycombe District Council was thrilled to see Wycombe Wanderers clinch promotion to League One and congratulate Gareth and his team on a magnificent achievement. The club has made tremendous strides forward in recent times, which is testament to the hard work of its directors, staff and players and the loyal and dedicated support it receives from its fans.

“We wish the team every success in League One and look forward to seeing them create new memories for the whole town to enjoy in the coming weeks, months and years to come.”

Trevor Stroud added: “It’s our mission to continue to provide a football club for its town to be proud of, and receiving this recognition of Wycombe District Council is a special accolade for us as we look forward to beginning life back in League One.

“We hope to return here one day soon, with more silverware and more cause for celebration, but for now we are grateful for the opportunity to re-live the glory of our promotion year.”

Cllr Green was accompanied by Council Leader Cllr Katrina Wood, Lead Member for Community Cllr Graham Peart, Chief Executive Karen Satterford and Corporate Director Sue Bolter, plus representatives from the staff at the council’s offices.